Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 >
Topic Options
#296657 - 10/04/2007 20:45 Hardware RAID Advice
Cris
pooh-bah

Loc: Leeds, UK
After much messing about with software RAID 5 with FreeNAS I have given up. I'm not finding it's a solution I feel my data is safe with. This could be down to the fact I am still a total Linux/BSD noob, but FreeNAS also seems to be locking up my system quite a bit so I don't think it's all my fault

So I am looking for a hardware solution, I am using IDE drives (3 Seagate 250Gb and 1 x WD 250Gb RE) the rest of the setup is pretty bog standard. I think I may use clarkconnect for the NAS part as I already run it as my firewall/router etc...

Any advice? I want it to be cheap as the system is manily made up of parts I already had and the idea of the project is to be low cost but highly stable. I'm not that botherd about speed but so far I have found a Socket 478 P4 2.8Ghz, 1Gb RAM, random MB (think it's an ex-HP MSI OEM from a system that was split at work) and a dodgy D-Link Gigabit NIC.

I could splash out on a LSI MegaRAID i4 they seem to be pretty reasonable on eBay.

Cheers

Cris.

#296658 - 10/04/2007 21:35 Re: Hardware RAID Advice [Re: Cris]
mlord
carpal tunnel

Loc: Canada
The 3Ware cards are the most highly recommended for this.

-ml

#296659 - 10/04/2007 21:48 Re: Hardware RAID Advice [Re: Cris]
Attack
addict

Loc: Florida
I'm currently using Arch Linux and software raid on an AMD X2 with 5 320GB Seagate drives. One of my drives failed Friday, the replacement should be here today. Other than the drive failure I didn't have any problems with it. The next raid device I setup might be another linux box or this.

#296660 - 10/04/2007 21:53 Re: Hardware RAID Advice [Re: mlord]
Cris
pooh-bah

Hmmmmm why is it that the best is almost always the most expensive.

Even eBay doesn't throw up many bargains there.

Cheers

Cris.