Hardware RAID Advice

Posted by: Cris

Hardware RAID Advice - 10/04/2007 20:45

After much messing about with software RAID 5 with FreeNAS I have given up. I'm not finding it's a solution I feel my data is safe with. This could be down to the fact I am still a total Linux/BSD noob, but FreeNAS also seems to be locking up my system quite a bit so I don't think it's all my fault

So I am looking for a hardware solution, I am using IDE drives (3 Seagate 250Gb and 1 x WD 250Gb RE) the rest of the setup is pretty bog standard. I think I may use clarkconnect for the NAS part as I already run it as my firewall/router etc...

Any advice? I want it to be cheap as the system is manily made up of parts I already had and the idea of the project is to be low cost but highly stable. I'm not that botherd about speed but so far I have found a Socket 478 P4 2.8Ghz, 1Gb RAM, random MB (think it's an ex-HP MSI OEM from a system that was split at work) and a dodgy D-Link Gigabit NIC.

I could splash out on a LSI MegaRAID i4 they seem to be pretty reasonable on eBay.

Cheers

Cris.
Posted by: mlord

Re: Hardware RAID Advice - 10/04/2007 21:35

The 3Ware cards are the most highly recommended for this.

-ml
Posted by: Attack

Re: Hardware RAID Advice - 10/04/2007 21:48

I'm currently using Arch Linux and software raid on an AMD X2 with 5 320GB Seagate drives. One of my drives failed Friday, the replacement should be here today. Other than the drive failure I didn't have any problems with it. The next raid device I setup might be another linux box or this.

Re: Hardware RAID Advice - 10/04/2007 21:53

Hmmmmm why is it that the best is almost always the most expensive.

Even eBay doesn't throw up many bargains there.

Cheers

Cris.

Re: Hardware RAID Advice - 10/04/2007 22:07