Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#220133 - 19/06/2001 17:45 My Wishlist
clindsay
stranger

This has previously been sent to Dell, I just discovered this board last night, so I thought I would post my wishes here too.

I have a few problems with my receiver. Some I think are very serious, some less so. I believe these can all be fixed in future version of the device either through firmware or through the PC software. I am not a programmer, but from what I can see, I think most if not all really have to do with how the database is created.

Here is s simple example:
I want to listen to a classical album that has 13 movements, but I want to start at the 6th and play until the end, there is no way to do this other than going through the whole process to get back to the album, artist or genre, selecting the 7th song, playing it and then repeating this process for the all the remaining tracks. You cannot play the album from track one, forward to track 6 and begin playing because of problem number 1, you cannot cut the process short by jumping back one step because of problem number 3, and you cannot skip forward or back to find the different movements because of what I have described as problem number 4.

1. The unit completely ignores track information in the ID3 tag.

If I select an album to listen to has 10 tracks, and track numbers are correctly identified in the ID3 tag, the receiver simply plays them in alpha order, disregarding the correct album order. This is unacceptable for many types of music, especially classical and spoken audio/books. Track ordering is essential.