Static IP under linux

Posted by: AndyGuy

Static IP under linux - 27/08/2000 01:42

How do I set a static ip address under Linux? I cannot see anything obvious in emptool, can I logon to the empeg and edit a config file?

Andy.

Posted by: bonzi

Re: Static IP under linux - 27/08/2000 05:31

How do I set a static ip address under Linux? I cannot see anything obvious in emptool, can I logon to the empeg and edit a config file?

From the emptool man page:

       config options name < name >
Names the player. The player's name has no effect
on its operation and is only really useful if you
have several players plugged in at once, perhaps on
a network. (In particular, there is no attempt to
synchronise the name of a network player with its
DNS name.)

config network dhcp < 0 or 1 >
For a network player, disables or enables automatic
configuration of network details using DHCP. If you
want to use the player's network interface, but
don't use DHCP, you must set both the IP address
and network mask, see below.

config network ipaddress < address >
For a network player, sets the IP address of its
network interface. The address must be a numeric
address such as 10.2.3.4, not a hostname such as
empegcar.myhouse.com. This option is ignored if
DHCP is enabled.

config network netmask < netmask >
For a network player, sets the IP network mask of
its network interface. The address must be given in
numeric form. If you don't know your network mask,
use 255.0.0.0. This option is ignored if DHCP is
enabled.

config network gateway < gateway >
In the unlikely event that you want your network
player to be accessible from beyond your local net-
work, you should set the IP address of an IP gate-
way. If not, you don't need to set a gateway. This
option is ignored if DHCP is enabled.

I haven't tried it, since my emptool refuses to connect to empeg via serial. I will poke around a bit using terminal to see whether it is possible to set IP parameters that way.

Cheers!


Dragi "Bonzi" Raos
Zagreb, Croatia
Q#5196, MkII#80000376, 18GB green

Posted by: xavyer

Re: Static IP under linux - 27/08/2000 09:38

The 'config' commands in emptool work well:

./emptool empeg-car
2000 Checking connection [Done]
2121 Downloading
2121 Starting download [Done]
2122 Retrieving tags index [Done]
2123 Retrieving databases [Done]
2124 Retrieving playlists [Done]
/> config
2124 Retrieving playlists [Done]
[menu]
quit=1
[network]
dhcp=0
ipaddress=192.168.2.3
netmask=255.255.255.252



Posted by: peter

Re: Static IP under linux - 30/08/2000 07:04

ipaddress=192.168.2.3
netmask=255.255.255.252


Um, does that actually work? 192.168.2.3 is the subnet-directed broadcast address for that netmask (all subnet bits 1). Any packet you send to 192.168.2.3 will also be received by (say) 192.168.2.1 if that host's netmask is also set to 255.255.255.252.

Peter