Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#349866 - 18/01/2012 16:34 Cloud PBX services
robricc
carpal tunnel

Loc: New Jersey, USA
I believe I posted about my Asterisk system planning 4 or 5 years ago. In short, we had an aging Nortel Norstar system that needed replacement. I decided to take on the task myself and took some Asterisk and Trixbox training. Amazingly, the system I built as a total newb is still running today. However, some changes had to be made since then as our business grew with branch offices.

At this time, we have a Verizon T1 PRI which has been absolutely terrible. I know it's not reasonable to expect 100% uptime, but Verizon's response time to trouble tickets is unforgivable. They're perfectly happy to let us flounder for hours before scheduling a truck roll. To top it off, their CSRs are the most rude bunch of unhappy pricks I could imagine. Our Verizon sales reps are of no help. They don't even respond to me unless I'm interested in buying something or upgrading.

Needless to say, I want to stick it to Verizon. I could easily transition to SIP trunking from our cable TV operator. We would save some money based on our current usage, and it would be seamless since it's literally just a configuration adjustment in Asterisk. The uptime on our $70/month cable modem has been far better than our Verizon T1, so I'm not worried about Cablevision possibly being a worse choice.