Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#289819 - 16/11/2006 03:17 Sound problem help
nicky
new poster

When I connect my Rio Central with an optical cable connection, I get occassional intermittent static/crackle noises only on my left speaker.

I've changed receivers, optical cables, speakers, quailty of mp3/wma files and still get the occassional intermittent brief static/crackle/pop like noise from the left side (speaker).

Are others having this problem. Thanks.

#289820 - 16/11/2006 14:23 Re: Sound problem help [Re: nicky]
The Central Guy
enthusiast

Loc: San Diego, California USA
Hi Nicky,
Welcome to the forum.

I've been using the Central for several years now, and have not heard the symptom you are describing. However, I don't use the optical cable nearly as much as the network connection with an attached Rio Receiver.

It sounds like you've covered all the bases by swapping things out, that's what I would try as well.

So how often does the noise/sound occur, and what exactly does it sound like?

Thanks, Randy

#289821 - 16/11/2006 20:31 Re: Sound problem help [Re: nicky]
peter
carpal tunnel

Loc: Cambridge, England
Quote:
Are others having this problem.

Yes. I don't know why this wasn't found in the original testing, but it's been reported several times since the Central was discontinued. Perhaps some outboard DACs are more forgiving than others, but for the unlucky ones (including me on my Pioneer optical amp) the Central gives rise to sporadic clicks on the left channel only. No-one's ever investigated the problem fully, but it sounds as if the optical timing is a bit off, and every so often either Central or the DAC just skips one or more samples on the left channel.

Peter

#289822 - 16/11/2006 22:06 Re: Sound problem help [Re: nicky]
nicky
new poster